The Scottish Press Photography Awards (SPPAwards) returned to the limelight in September 2015 after being in abeyance since 2008. The 2018 Awards built on the success of the 2017 SPPAward winners exhibition hosted at the Scottish Parliament from 19 October 2017 until 8 February 2018.

The deadline dates for the 2019 Awards have been brought forward to enable the prize-winners to be announced at the opening of an exhibition hosted by the Scottish Parliament in August 2019.  Therefore, entries are now being accepted for SPPAwards 2019 with eligible images being taken between 1 August 2018 and 1 June 2019.

There will be a new category for the 2019 SPPAwards to celebrate 20 years of the Scottish Parliament.  Eligible entries for this category must have been taken between 28 June 1999 and 1 June 2019 and subjects be of a Scottish political nature.  This category is open to the large number of press photographers, past and present, who are either Scottish or have worked in Scotland over the 20 years since the Scottish Parliament opened.

The judges are looking forward to seeing the quality of entries for the SPPAwards 2019 which will deliver amazing images across a wide spectrum of subjects.

The 2019 SPPAwards will celebrate the best of the best images taken between 1 August 2018 and 1 June 2019.

See list of previous winners of Press Photographers of the Year which will be completed once information is confirmed.

2018: (1) Duncan McGlynn (Freelance)
2017: (2)  Angie Isac (Freelance)
2016:       Wullie Marr (Deadline News) 
2015:      Garry F McHarg (Daily Record)
2008:      Dave Cheskin (Press Association)
2007:      Ian Rutherford (The Scotsman)
2006:      Dave Cheskin (Press Association)
2005:      Dave Cheskin (Press Association)
2001:       Christian Cooksey (Evening Times)
1998:      Ian Rutherford (The Scotsman)
1997: (3)  Ian Rutherford (The Scotsman)
1996: (4)  Robert Perry (Scotland on Sunday)
1994:      Ian Rutherford (The Scotsman)
1991: (5)  Ian Torrance (Daily Record)
1990: (5) Angela Catlin (Glasgow Herald) and Henry McInnes (Sunday Mail)
1987:     James Galloway (The Glasgow Herald)
1983: (6)  Alan MacDonald (The Scotsman)
1982: (6)  Richard Parker (Daily Record)
1981:  (6)  Andrew Hosie (Daily Record)
1980: (6)  William (Willie) Thornton (Daily Record)
1979: (5)  Arthur Kinloch (The Glasgow Herald)

Sponsored by:
(1) Edinburgh Elite media and SportPix
(2)  The Sunday Post
(3)  BT
(4)  Scottish Mutual Assurance Society
(5) Bells's Whisky
(6) BAA Scottish Airports

About the Awards

Aim of the SPPAwards
Good photographers can encapsulate a whole story in a single image. Pictures paint a thousand words and are more often remembered than the accompanying words.  We feel that press photographers should be recognised for the work they deliver on a consistent basis. Photographers often go to great lengths and a degree of personal danger to get the shots that grab the attention and stop the page from turning. Those at the sharp end of press photography feel that it is right to highlight and applaud the work of their peers.  

Benefits for photographers
Everybody thinks they are a photographer these days, whether they shoot a family wedding or publish selfies on the net. However, the results are often exposed when compared to images that are published on a daily basis in newspapers, magazines and the net when taken by a professional. Professional photographers have invested time and money in the drive to get the best quality image on a day to day basis.

Some iPhone graduates can get lucky and capture a great image. However, professionals are out there every day making sure they are lucky more often than not. The Awards highlight the range of skills employed by professional photographers.

Benefits for sponsors
Being associated with a quality product that is available in hard copy and multi-media, at no significant expense for the end user, will place sponsors in the subconscious of everybody who has an interest in news, fashion, PR, sport, politics, celebrity, nature, travel, etc.

The awards winning images are sent to national and local press along with magazine and internet exposure with your company name associated with the Awards.

This site can accommodate links to your website; social media associated with the Awards; and of course any SPPAwards exhibitions that may tour Scotland.